Fall 2018 6-Hour Supplement to 40-Hour Divorce Mediation Training


Renewals and Improvements

Our site is under construction - please bear with us as we work to improve your experience.
(membership renewals are processed through our new portal, njapmediators.org)

Seeking admission to the New Jersey Superior Court’s family mediation roster but you received your training more than five years ago or received your 40-hours of basic training out of the state of New Jersey?  Need an update on NJ divorce mediation?  This is the class for you.

NJAPM 6-Hour Divorce Mediation Supplement: Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Continental Breakfast at 9;00 AM; Class is from 9:30 AM to 4:30 PM 

Forsgate Country Club, Monroe Township, Exit 8A off New Jersey Turnpike

Applicants to the roster who have been trained in a 40-hour out-of-state mediation training or who took the 40-hour New Jersey mediation training more than five years prior to applying to the roster, and who otherwise qualify under this rule, must further attend a six-hour supplemental course approved by the Administrative Office of the Courts. The courses shall include, but are not limited to, training in facilitative methods, case management techniques, procedural requirements for an enforceable mediated settlement, NJ Rules and mediator ethics, Guidelines for Mediator Compensation, the Uniform Mediation Act and mediation case law. 

This class also serves as a refresher for anyone who has taken basic divorce mediation training. We will share information on updates to family law and have great conversations. It meets the AOC's 4 hour annual CE requirement for those already on the roster, and also provides continuing legal education credits.  The only prerequisite for this class is that you should have taken a basic divorce mediation training class.  We will consider exceptions, upon request.

Instructors for the class include Carl Cangelosi, JD, APM , and Anju D. Jessani, MBA, APM. this class will also feature Vincent P. Celli, Esq., APM

Program

  • Multi-disciplinary faculty who serve on the New Jersey’s divorce mediation roster for 1:40 cases.
  • A faculty member who is also listed with the AOC as 1:40 divorce roster mentor.
  • Small classes: Classes are limited to a maximum of 24 students. You will be able to better participate in the extensive roleplays and receive individualized attention from the faculty.
  • Lecture: Learn from prominent mediators and other experts.
  • Faculty demonstration: Learn by watching experienced mediators.
  • Student role plays: Learn by doing.
  • Step-by-step approach to conducting a 1:40 divorce mediation will help you feel more confident mediating.
  • Digital and printed useful forms and training materials.

Key Elements of Training

  • How to qualify for the court roster.
  • Procedural requirement for the program including domestic violence restrictions.
  • Compensation rules.
  • Review of economic aspects of New Jersey family law including child support, alimony, and equitable distribution.
  • Ethics, case law and the Uniform Mediation Act.
  • Mediation styles and role plays.
  • Meets 6-Hour course requirement for the AOC for their supplementary requirement.
  • CLEs: The course qualifies for 7.2 NJ CLE credits including 1 et

Registration Information

  • The course fee is $335 if paid by October 25, 2018
  • The course fee is $365 if paid on or after October 25, 2018
  • The course fee  includes a light breakfast and lunch as well as training materials.
  • Full payment is required before the class starts.
  • Class is limited to 24 participants.
  • Go online at www.njapm.org to register and pay by credit card or complete the form below and pay by check.
  • NJAPM reserves the right to cancel the training and return all fees.
  • Any cancellation by a student received within five days of the course start date will be subject to a 25% cancellation fee.
  • Refunds will not be issued after the program has started.

If you have problems registering online, please call or email Anju Jessani at 201-217-1090 or ajessani@dwdmediation.org, and she will assist you, or just send a check to NJAPM with either $335 before October 25, or $365 after October 25, with the notation "6-Hour Divorce" and mail to NJAPM, 26 Park Street, Suite 2041, Montclair, NJ 07042. Please include your name, address, phone number and email address.  Thanks!

Click Here To Register

AttachmentSize
NJAPM-6-Hour-Divorce-Supplement-Fall-2018.pdf157.43 KB